Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Herbert William Moffitt (1877–1953)

Judge H. W. [Herbert William] Moffitt, formerly of the N.S.W. Workers' Compensation Commission Bench, died yesterday, aged 76.

Judge Moffitt had a varied career before he was called to the Bar. As a youth, he worked on the land before he became a "bush teacher" in a one-room school at Jiggi, on the Upper Richmond River.

Transferred to the city, where he became English Master at Sydney High School before leaving the Education Department, he studied at night and gained his B.A., M.A., and LL.B. degrees.

After nearly 20 years at the Bar he was appointed Acting Judge of the District Court in 1938, and in the following year a member of the Workers' Compensation Commission Bench. He retired in 1948.

He was a personal friend of most of the writers and artists of his day, and was himself a self-taught black and-white artist. Much of his work was published in the Bulletin. In 1939 he was appointed an honorary member of the Royal Art Society of N.S.W.

Judge Moffit had been in failing health for several years. He is survived by his widow, a son, A. R. Moffitt, and three daughters, Mrs. R. B. Gates, Mrs. L. Le Gay Brereton, and Miss Y. Moffitt.

Original publication

Additional Resources

Citation details

'Moffitt, Herbert William (1877–1953)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 19 July 2024.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2024