Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

William Ellis Hay (1867–1939)

Mr. William Ellis Hay, who was managing director of the South Australian Brush Company, which he founded almost half a century ago, died at his home in Churcher street, Thorngate, on Sunday after a long illness. He was 72. Mr. Hay was born in Victoria, but came to South Australia as an infant, and was educated at the Pulteney Grammar School and Caterer's Norwood Grammar School. He began work in the hardware business in the employment of McLean Bros, and Rigg. Some years later he became interested in brushmaking, and in 1893 he established his own business in a small shop in Gawler place, employing four men. In 1917 he floated the business into a limited company and became managing director.

Mr. Hay was a member of the council of the Chamber of Manufactures and the Chamber of Commerce. He was a member of the Rotary Club. In 1893 he married Miss Louise Snewin, daughter of Captain F. P. Snewin, of the Adelaide Steamship Company. He is survived by Mrs. Hay, four daughters—Mesdames E. W. Griffiths, of Sydney; M. Hay, of Victoria Harbor; and L. Coltman, of Ballarat; and Miss Doreen Hay, of Thorngate—and one son, Mr. Dean Hay, who is a director of the S. A. Brush Company.

Original publication

Citation details

'Hay, William Ellis (1867–1939)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 15 June 2024.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2024