Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Nicholas (Nick) Ronan (1949–2012)

Nick Ronan, former Victorian Chair of the IFA, died suddenly on Wednesday 6th June 2012.

His career started when he was awarded a Commonwealth Cadetship, graduating in forestry from the ANU in 1975. He then commenced working with the Melbourne Metropolitan Board of Works (later Melbourne Water) in Catchment Hydrology and undertook a variety of planning and operational roles with Melbourne Water over the next 29 years. After leaving Melbourne Water in 2004 Nick held a range of senior positions with organisations including the Department of Sustainability and Bureau of Meteorology.

An active member of the IFA, Nick was the Victorian Divisional Chair. He was also awarded a life membership of the Association of Professional Engineers, Scientists and Managers Australia after being involved with this Association for 32 years.

Nick has left a professional legacy of a great work ethic, and outstanding project management and organisational skills. He was also active in repertory theatre and golf. He will be sadly missed by a wide range of friends, from all walks of life.

Nick is survived by his wife Jane and daughter Krissy, and by five brothers and two sisters.

Original publication

Citation details

'Ronan, Nicholas (Nick) (1949–2012)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 23 April 2024.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2024