Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Evan Jenkins (?–1954)

One of South Australia's most highly respected pastoralists and breeders of Merino sheep, Mr. Evan Jenkins, of Neath Vale, Terowie, died suddenly on 13th August. He was a brother to the former South Australian Minister of Agriculture, Sir George Jenkins, and bred large framed, back country Merinos at Neath Vale, which was formerly the property of his father, Mr. G. K. Jenkins. Not only was he well known and respected in the Terowie district, but throughout the State generally. Although Neath Vale was never registered as a stud, Mr. Jenkins acquired a reputation as a breeder of top quality rams. His ability as a keen judge of stock, particularly sheep and cattle, ranked him among the most prominent stock breeders in the State.

In the field of public service Mr. Jenkins was a member of the Hallett District Council and was a generous contributor to charities. His will provided considerable benefits to charity, including bequests of £1000 to Adelaide Childrens' Hospital, £500 to the Crippled Childrens' Association, and £100 to the Terowie Institute. Mr. Jenkins' only son, John, was killed while serving with the R.A.A.F. during the war, but he is survived by three married daughters.

Original publication

Citation details

'Jenkins, Evan (?–1954)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 21 May 2024.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2024