Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Andrew Faithfull Gibson (1833–1910)

Word was received in Goulburn on Friday afternoon that Mr. Andrew Faithfull Gibson had died that morning at Potts Point. Mr. Gibson had been in failing health for a long time, and his end was not unexpected. He was about 76 years of ago, and was the son of the late Dr. Andrew Gibson, being born at the old Tirranna house. The late Mr. Gibson carried on grazing pursuits all his life, and a few years ago built the fine residence known as Burrungurroolong. It is only a short time since Mr. Gibson sold the property to Mr. George Faithfull and proceeded to Potts Point to live. The deceased gentleman was the founder of the Tirranna Picnic Races, which were afterwards formed into a club, with Mr. Gibson as president, a position he held until his death. He was always present at the meetings of the club, in which he took the keenest interest. Of late years he used to attend in his chair. The late Mr. Gibson was most highly regarded in the Goulburn district and elsewhere. He leaves a widow, six daughters, and three sons. The daughters are Mrs. Dr. Faithfull, Mrs. Arnheim, Mrs. Westmacott, and Misses Nancy, Nellie, and Elsie Gibson. The sons are Campbell, Dudley, and Norman.

Original publication

Citation details

'Gibson, Andrew Faithfull (1833–1910)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 17 June 2024.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2024