Attention Internet Explorer User

Your web browser has been identified as Internet Explorer .

In the coming months this site is going to be updated to improve security, accessibility and mobile experience. Older versions of Internet Explorer do not provide the functionality required for these changes and as such your browser will no longer be supported as of September 2020. If you require continued access to this site then you will need to install a different browser such as Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome.

Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Todhunter, Francis James (Frank) (1831–1904)

On Friday last occurred the death of Mr. Francis Todhunter of Goulburn, but formerly of Wambiana in the Warren district. Mr. Todhunter was originally manager of the above named valuable property for its then owners Messrs. Christie and Wentworth. On the death of the senior partner of the firm (Mr. Christie) the property was submitted to auction and bought by Mr. Todhunter in his own interest. He thereafter made a speciality of raising still higher the excellent reputation of the holding and proceeded to establish at Wambiana one of the best pure bred cattle herds in the State. His animals at times reached in Dubbo market and elsewhere what would now be considered almost fabulous prices.

Mr. Todhunter, who was, we believe, a near connection of the family of which Mr. W. C. Wentworth was the distinguished member, parted with Wambiana a few years ago, and took up his residence in the Goulburn district. He was in his 73rd year at the time of his decease.

Original publication

  • Dubbo Dispatch and Wellington Independent (NSW), 21 December 1904, p 2 (view original)

Citation details

'Todhunter, Francis James (Frank) (1831–1904)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 30 October 2020.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2020