Attention Internet Explorer User

Your web browser has been identified as Internet Explorer .

In the coming months this site is going to be updated to improve security, accessibility and mobile experience. Older versions of Internet Explorer do not provide the functionality required for these changes and as such your browser will no longer be supported as of September 2020. If you require continued access to this site then you will need to install a different browser such as Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome.

Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Salom, Alfred M. (1869–1899)

The news of the death of Mr. Alfred M. Salom, of North Adelaide, came as a sad surprise to his large circle of friends. He was apparently in the enjoyment of the best of health until about a week ago, when symptoms of typhoid developed, and on Sunday death ensued. The deceased gentleman, who was a son of Mr. Maurice Salom, was in his 31st year. Mr. Salom has lost three of his sons from typhoid, one only about six months ago. The deceased made many friends during his wanderings in the West, in banking circles in Adelaide, and also in the football arena as a player for the Adelaides. The funeral left Brougham Place, North Adelaide, at 4 o'clock on Monday afternoon. The cortege was a long one, and the Rabbi (Rev. A. T. Boas) conducted the service. The chief mourners were Messrs. M. Salom (father), H., B., and W. Salom (brothers), and L. Saber and Harris (brothers-in law). Amongst those present were Messrs. V. L. Solomon, W. Griffiths and B. Wood (members of the House of Assembly), L. Isaacs (president), I. Asher (treasurer), M. J. Solomon, W. Lazarus, and. S. Rosengarten (representing Adelaide Hebrew congregation), Alfred Dawkins (representing Mr. M. C. Davis), Edward Parton, Vinrace Lawrance, S. Jacobs, A. A. Langsford, S. Barnard, S. Saunders, S. Solomon, Lieutenant-Colonel Solomon, Captain and Quartermaster Daniels, J. Moss, J. H. Solomon, L. Cohen, A. Searcy, F. L. Simmons, J. Moss-Solomon, J. M. Solomon-Senior, W. Gully, F. Chapman, A. Melrose, M. Mannheim, E. A. Mannheim, E. H. Wreford, W. Huddlestone, H. Raphael, and W. Finlayson. Messrs. Pengelley & Knabe had charge of the funeral arrangements.

Original publication

Citation details

'Salom, Alfred M. (1869–1899)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 23 October 2020.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2020