Attention Internet Explorer User

Your web browser has been identified as Internet Explorer .

In the coming months this site is going to be updated to improve security, accessibility and mobile experience. Older versions of Internet Explorer do not provide the functionality required for these changes and as such your browser will no longer be supported as of September 2020. If you require continued access to this site then you will need to install a different browser such as Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome.

Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Rothe, Waldemar Henrik (1853–1928)

Mr. Waldemar Henrik Rothe, who was for 44 years associated with the Colonial Sugar Refining Company, Ltd., died on Wednesday at his residence, Greenoaks-avenue, Darling Point. He was 75 years of age.

Mr. Rothe was born in Denmark, and came to Sydney in 1873. He entered the service of the Commercial Banking Company of Sydney, Ltd., and in 1879 resigned to join the Colonial Sugar Refining Company. Ltd. In 1902 he became assistant manager, and 18 years later general manager, in which position he remained until his retirement in 1923. Mr. Rothe was well-known for his philanthropic activities, and for several years was a member of the committee of the Sydney Industrial Blind Institution. He is survived by Mrs. Rothe (who was formerly Miss M. E. Orridge), and by one daughter (Miss E. F. Rothe) and three sons (Messrs. C. W. Rothe, F. L. Rothe. and V. H Rothe).

The funeral took place yesterday afternoon in the Church of England Cemetery, Waverley. Prior to the interment, a short service was conducted at the residence by Canon W. L. Langley (rector of All Saints, Woollahra), who also officiated at the graveside.

The principal mourners were Mrs. Rothe (widow) and Messrs. Christian W. Rothe and V. H. Rothe (sons), and G. S. Orridge (brother-in-law).

The Colonial Sugar Refining Co. Ltd. was represented by Messrs. E. W. Knox (chairman and managing director), P. H. Goldfinch (director and acting-general manager), W. Davis, L. Waterman, F. Buchanan, Dr. Tom Guthrie, Messrs. R. Plomley, R. Goddard, N. Thomas, E. Marriott, B. Smith, D. Harricks, A. H. Brennan, E. Spragg, L. Smith, G. Blaxland, J. Godwin, F. Rutledge, L. McPheo, R. Garling, F. Watson, N. Howe, C. Lindsay, R. Littlemore, M. Brownrigg, A. Grace, F. Early, W. Stephens, E. Reeve. D. Barry, A. MacFarlane, G. Smith, Carrol W. Dacre, M. Bingham. F. Boundy, W. McMaster, F. MacCullagh, S. Trumper, Harry H. Keys. Gillan W. King. F. Pattison. J. Helsham, S. Godlee, J. Fraser. S. Gemmell. R. Ilett, W. McDonald, A. Coyle, W. Redford, R. Leitke. H. J. Stiles, A. Robins, A. Hopkins, J. McNamara, Young, G. Muir, T. Stocks, H. Clayton, and A. H. Brennan. The Pyrmont staff was represented by Messrs. H. Lee Smith (manager), C. Vale, R. Lockley, E. A. Walker, R. G. McCaffery, S. B. Best, E. L. Spencer, C. F. Baker, R. Doherty, R. Clark. W. Chapman, H. Ray, G Stanley, W. Hills, A. Henning, and A. Lawson.

Representatives of the Sydney Industrial Blind Institution who attended included Sir Alfred Meeks (president), Mr. A. E. Phillips (honorary secretary), Dr. William Chisholm, and Mr. Crofton, S. E. Lees (members of the committee), and Mr. H. Hedger (manager).

The Chief Justice (Sir Philip Street) was represented by Mr. Clive Reid.

There were also present Judge Backhouse, Dr. Norman Kater, M.L.C.. Messrs. E. R. Knox, H. V. Dixon (formerly general manager, Colonial Sugar Refining Co. Ltd.), W. P. Dixon (formery chief inspector), A. B. Weigall, Geoffrey E. Fairfax, A. Consett Stephen, S. E. Laidley, A. J. Watt. Colin Stephen, Hugh H. Massie, Colonel R. L. R. Rabett, Lieutenant Colonel C. T. Griffiths, Messrs. J. R. Dryhurst (general manager, Commercial Banking Co of Sydney, Ltd.), Edward Hungerford (secretary, Union Club), James Kidd, C. H. Doyle (Australian Mercantile, Land, and Finance Co. Ltd.), Dr. F. A. Bennet. Captain A. T. Pritchard , R.N.R. (ex-Harbour Master), Messrs. Alister Stephen, Leslie Stephen, A. F. Robinson. Herbert Morris, K. Winchcomhe, W. McRae, J. W. Street, J. Arthur Dowling, H. Williams, W. H. Boekemann, Hugh James, F. McCiillough, H. P. Pasquill, H. J. P Stiles, J. C. Close, F. Yuill, E. W. Fenner. E. A. Holden, A. J. Dodd, M. Donald Mackay, F. B. Oliver, H. W. Mackisack, L. Gordon Bain (G. S. Yuill and Co. Ltd ), W. Eric Gilchrist, W. M. Macfarlane, Charles H. Ross, Clifford S. Ross, Harley Money, P. A. Rabett, J. J. Witney, Bernard Blythman, Herbert Brown, Ernest A. Smith, G. H. Wyld, Gilbert W. Henty, and Ernest A. Poolman.

Original publication

Additional Resources

  • probate, Sydney Morning Herald, 30 October 1928, p 9

Citation details

'Rothe, Waldemar Henrik (1853–1928)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 9 August 2020.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2020