Obituaries Australia

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: use double quotes to search for a phrase
  • Tip: lists of awards, schools, organisations etc

Browse Lists:

Schlich medal (Australian Forestry School, ACT)

by John Dargavel

Sir William Schlich (1904–1925) was a famous German forester who became Inspector-General of Forests in India. He established the forestry course in the Royal Indian Engineering College at Coppers Hill (UK) and founded the School of Forestry in the University of Oxford. A Memorial Fund was established in Oxford to recognise outstanding contributions to forestry in a number of countries including Australia, New Zealand, UK, USA and Canada.

A medal was awarded annually to the outstanding forestry student in the Australian Forestry School (from 1928) and the Australian National University. It was not awarded in other Australian institutions.

2013 Mark Wong Kah Loon

2012 Not awarded

2011 Alice Tamara Clifton

2010 Nicholas Firth

2009 Darren Brown

2008 Paul Killey

2007 Matthew Kinny and Ian Scanlan

2006 Benjamin Wielinga

2005 Melinda Mylek

2004 Andrew Ford

2003 John Tabor

2002 Amy Ho

2001 Phillip Alcorn

2000 David Forrester

1999 Mei Lynn Wee and Jacqueline Schirmer

1998 Chris McElhinny

1997 Melanie Frankcombe, Dominic Kain and Tyron Venn

1996 Ronald Gerald Alan Eastment

1995 Boon Hwee Kenneth Er

1994 Glen Rivers

1993 Michael John Elix

1992 Rohan Anthony Nelson and Aled James Hoggett

1991 Dylan Kendall

1990 Craig Harold Hawkins

1989 Miles Edward Prosser

1988 Andrew William Morton

1987 Stephen James Catchpoole

1986 Alistair David Sarre

1985 Glenn Thomas Dale and Craig Inions

1984 Mark John Josef Dieters

1983 Andrew Kerr Skidmore

1982 Martin Eugene Rayner

1981 Peter James Kanowski

1980 Anthony James O’Hara

1979 Wayne Norman Tibbits

1978 Andrew George Miller and David Merrick Ridley

1977 J. K. Vanclay

1976 A. M. Melmoth

          G. R. Wilkinson

1975 M. B. Foster

1974 K. B. Cater

1973 J. H. Drielsma

1972 Alan Michael Harvey

1971 M. A. Veal

1970 R. D. Beck

1969 Philip Wallace West

1968 Gregory William Herberle

1967 Noel Graham Ashcroft

1966 J. Davidson

1965 M. D. Higgins

1964 C. R. Palzer and B. A. Manap

1963 B. A. Stark

1962 F. E. Batini

1961 D. I. Bevege

1960 D. Doley and A. L. Cameron

1959 B. P. M. Hyland

1958 G. B. Sweet

1957 H. Kirkland

1956 D. S. H. Preest

1955 G. J. Molloy

1954 G. B. Wood

1953 G. D. Pople

1952 E. H. Bunn

1951 G. N. Baur

1950 K. G. Campbell and J. R. McWilliam

1949 T. M. Cunningham

1948 J. D. H. Muir

1947 J. A. Alexander

1946 J. A. B. MacCallum

1945 Not awarded

1944 R.V. Woods

1943 W. T. Feagan

1941 & 1942 Not awarded

1940 E. W. Parker

1939 Not awarded

1938 C. J. Pawsey

1936 & 1937 Not awarded

1935 L. D. Pryor

1934 Not awarded

1933 J. B. MacAdams

1932 Not awarded

1931 S. J. Jennings

1930 J. O’Donnell

1929 W. D. Muir

1928 L. J. Rogers

Citation details

John Dargavel, 'Schlich medal (Australian Forestry School, ACT)', Obituaries Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, accessed 21 May 2019.

© Copyright Obituaries Australia, 2010-2019


Year Established
  • 1928

Related Persons

[ more ]